Kitchen Table

I think I should apoligise in advance for what will be a bit of a gushing review for Kitchen Table, but I can’t help it. I thought I’d give myself a couple of days to see if in the cold light of Monday I still felt the same way, but I do, so here it is.

IMG_4642

We went last Friday for my birthday, we waltzed past the queue going round the block for Bubbledogs (still not sure what the hype is there I have to say) and went through to the back room where the team were already half way through the early evening service. I had my worries about the “tosserati” that Marina had mentioned would be surrounding us but I was pleasantly surprised by our company for the evening; everyone seemed perfectly nice, and I didn’t hear any wankery from around me.

Shrimp

Shrimp

Pig and Roe

Pig and Roe

Pig and Row

Pig and Row

And the food? The food was unbelievably good, as good as anything I’ve had in London this year, or in my entire life. Highlights included the most wonderful fried bread with sole taramsalata will be with me for weeks, the tender broccoli with nuts and anchovy dressing was understated and devastating, and the venison with béarnaise sauce was rich and beautiful.

Sole

Sole

At work

At work

Plaice

Plaice

Duck

IMG_4614

Venison

Venison

The journey that Knappet took us on was one I didn’t want to end; every course, big or small, was extradordinary, delightful and delicious. I like the set up round the kitchen, although to be honest I didn’t see that much theatre (not that I really want it), but it’s got a lovely vibe and subdued. I’m booking it again for a couple of months, knowing the menu will be different but just as excellent.

Burrata

Decent

Apple

Apple

Cranberry

Cranberry

Blackberry

Blackberry

Go as soon as you can, when you’ve saved up, this is worth every penny.

Bubbledogs on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Kitchen Table

Leave a Reply

