The Ledbury – Still the best

The last restaurant I’m doing in this London series is the first one I booked when I knew I was going back home. The Ledbury has been my favorite restaurant in London since forever. It was the restaurant I missed the most when I moved out here and I was seriously looking forward to visiting again. The excitement was slightly dampened when, as we were walking out the door, I realized my wallet was missing. After some investigation we realized that the man Mum had let in to read the meter must have taken it. This was 8 hours before I was due to fly home and contained every single card I owned. We arrived at the Ledbury in rather low spirits, still trying to work out how he’d managed to grab my wallet and, more worryingly, a set of house keys.

So we were obviously a little pissed off when we walked into the Ledbury but as usual they were incredibly kind and sympathetic and before we’d even opened our menus four glasses of champagne were presented to us. This is the sort of place the Ledbury is, the service is the best in London and the people that work there among the nicest.

Trying to forget the events of the morning, we had a gander at the menu. From Monday to Saturday, Ledbury offers a very reasonably priced 3 course set lunch for £28, which, for the quality of the food you’ll be eating, is a complete bargain. While half the table went for the set lunch, I couldn’t resist the lure of the a la carte and so my sister and I went for that.

To start I had the flame grilled mackerel. This had deliciously crispy, salted skin with soft succulent flesh underneath and came with a sour tasting cucumber that complimented it perfectly. My sister, on my recommendation, went for the chicken wings with morels. This is one of my favorite dishes at the Ledbury, tasty and rich, it is the most delicious comfort food you’ve ever had. On the set menu side Mum had the tomato salad, which sounds dull but is so fresh and comes with delicious goat cheese.

Flame Grilled Mackerel with Cucumber, Celtic Mustard and Shiso

Steamed White Asparagus with Stuffed Morels À La Crème and Crisp Chicken Wings

The mains, however, were a complete hit all round the table. I went for the guinea fowl that came with celeriac baked in ash. This was the best thing I’ve tasted all year, no contest. The flavours were amazing, the meat was incredible, I’m running out of superlatives but honestly this is the sort of food you dream about. My sister’s roe deer was received equally enthusiastically. It had lovely tender pink meat, delicious vegetables and crispy potato, and was another surefire hit. On the set menu side, the assiete of pork was succulent and went down very well.

Guinea fowl with celeriac baked in ash

Loin of Roe Deer Baked in Douglas Fir with Wild Garlic, Smoked Bone Marrow and Morel

Finally to finish up, we shared two desserts between the four of us. The carmelised banana galette with passion fruit was sticky, crunchy and sweet; a lovely mixture of flavours that worked wonderfully. The crème caramel with jasmine was smooth and sweet. Both were the perfect way to end another great meal at The Ledbury. And to top it all off, Mum then found my wallet and keys in her handbag, claiming to have no memory of putting them in there! So although my Mother may be going a little bonkers, we left in a lot better mood than when we walked in.

Caramelised Banana Galette with Salted Caramel, Passion Fruit and Peanut Oil Parfait

brown sugar tart with Muscat grapes and stem ginger ice cream

I know this review is rather gushing at times but I really do love this place and if you haven’t eaten here yet then it should go straight to the top of the list.

The Ledbury on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

